loading


  • 3.4 - Average Ratings
  • 25 Total Reviews
    Parent : 50 %
    Dancer : %
    Studio Owner : 37.5 %
    Teacher : 12.5 %

  • 2120 E. Tunnel Blvd.
  • Houma ,LA
  • 9858515108
  • elitedancecup@att.net

Our Friends

loading

ELITE DANCE CUP

Jul 26 2021

Review Has Been Remove - Pending Review

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply
Jul 26 2021

Jul 29 2019

We attended Elite Dance Cup’s national event in Biloxi, MS June 27 – 30. I have to say as a parent of a dancer and studio owner I enjoyed the nationals very much. The staff were always smiling and welcoming throughout the day during Competition and Master Classes! And talk about a well-rounded group of judges that gave each master class. It was a very encouraging event and gave several opportunities to the dancers throughout the weekend. The “Cups of Kindness” were one of my dancer’s favorite activities, which encouraged dancers to support each other and turned into a friend in the dance world from another studio. I see them meeting at future competitions still as friends and supporting each other. The Showcase Showdown was a special way to end the weekend. Even though we did not win the Showcase the dancers were so excited to have been selected. We will attend Elite Dance Cup again! Looking forward to next year!

Venue : 5
Judging : 5
Staff : 5
Awards : 5
Communication : 5
Elite Dance Cup
Reply
Jul 29 2019

May 10 2019

Elite dance cup reached out in regards to my issues! Thank you!!!!

Venue : 5
Judging : 5
Staff : 5
Awards : 5
Communication : 5
Elite Dance Cup
Reply
May 10 2019

May 07 2019

Elite’s competition was so well run, they were on time, in fact thirty minutes ahead in the end. The staff was also friendly, encouraging and helpful. All the studios were even supportive of each other. This made for a very smooth long competition weekend for my dancers. Thanks for such an enjoyable time!

Venue : 5
Judging : 5
Staff : 5
Awards : 5
Communication : 5
Elite Dance Cup
Reply
May 07 2019

Apr 24 2019

This competition was very accommodating with a staff that was very approachable, helpful, and energetic throughout the entire three day competition! It was refreshing to see a competition with such caring workers. This was in St.Louis at the Scottish Rite. My Daughter has a great time!

Venue : 5
Judging : 5
Staff : 5
Awards : 5
Communication : 5
Elite Dance Cup
Reply
Apr 24 2019

Mar 19 2019

Elite had a very thoughtful staff! Easy to work with and ran on time.

Venue : 5
Judging : 4
Staff : 5
Awards : 5
Communication : 5
Elite Dance Cup
Reply
Mar 19 2019

Mar 15 2017

I have a small studio that competes recreationally. We enjoy very much going to the Elite Dance Cup competition. The owner is extremely helpful and kind. I have found that the critiques were very beneficial for me and my students and the awards were all exactly as I expected for our efforts. We have made a point to return to this competition for two years now, because we had such a great experience!

Venue : 3
Judging : 4
Staff : 5
Awards : 4
Communication : 5
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

May 05 2015

Ran on time and sometimes early. They reminded the dancers that their score/trophy doesn\'t define them. Needed a better sound system for the mic, it was hard to hear the results at times due to the volume of the system.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Apr 19 2015

We had one good experience at this competition and then years after that it became much worse. The second year we went there the venue was flooding into the backstage and into the audience. Then the third year our nationals were cancelled. And then this year I had girls wiping out left and right. The judging was AWFUL! They don\'t give care about novice kids and you could clearly tell they favored one studio. But yet we can\'t even wear a shirt that has our studio logo on it when we bring out props. It was utterly ridiculous.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Mar 16 2015

I have never had a bad experience at this competition. Sure, I do not always agree with the judges, but that happens at a lot of competitions. After all, judging is subjective.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

May 19 2014

A bit unorganized, strange venue, gave out ribbons...

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

May 11 2014

We were able to compare results for multiple dancers from multiple studios among a group of friends who own studios or have taught for years. The overall winner was clear but the other four in the top five left us wondering if there had been a glitch in the scoring system. One of my girls placed second but had no business being in that group. She was thrilled but quickly realized that she placed better than others that she was in awe of. Plenty of good life lessons, but anything but a well run, professional competition. We have tried to make sense of the experience based on years of participating in these things, but we have yet to figure out how the judges came to the conclusions they reached. It\'s not good for the dancers or parents to have scoring so wildly inaccurate. Funny thing is, the studio owners came up with just about the same personal top 5 in each category. Only one or two were on the lists the judges generated. We\'ll throw this comp into the only if we need stage time and there is nothing else within 4 hours drive time. In other words, last result with no weight given to results.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

May 07 2014

Small venue. Small dressing space. Might return

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

May 02 2014

NEVER AGAIN! We compared only our studios dancers. The scores/ranking made no sense whatsoever. Our senior level girls have amazing technique yet their more difficult dances score lower than our youngest girls who had considerably less content. I heard gasps all through the venue throughout awards. People all around me we\'re saying things like: that\'s not possible, how in the world, and no way. Needless to say we will never return.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

May 01 2014

The venue was a good size for the size of competition. With that being said the competition was small and literally took only one day. It should have been on a Saturday if it was going to only be one day because it causes long drives, late at night to travel back home. Also, we were the largest team there with about 45% of the dances and they would not let dances go out of order. .. That was difficult for some girls due to extremely fast changes because they were in so many dances which were very close together in performance times. The back stage crew was rude and was caught yelling at one of our students. (We almost left at that moment! @ 8am!) The girls complained about slippery floors, of which our dads had to sweep (for the dancers safety). And during awards, there were a few instances the awards were incorrectly awarded. We have decided to not return to this competition.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Apr 30 2014

Our studio attended this competition 2 years ago and we have not been back. There was only one room for ALL dancers to dress in and it had to have been 100 degrees in there. Comments were made by the judges about the girls hair having fly aways, tight color, shoe color etc. Those poor girls couldn\'t help the hair. It was hot and extremely humid in there. The comments were really rude and overly critical. Our studio has voted to never go back there.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Mar 24 2014

Although our team did rather well at this competition, we were still very disappointed in it. It was a very small competition, but was our first one of the season so not a huge deal. However, despite the small size, it was still rather unorganized, with long breaks between each routine for no apparent reason. They kept mentioning that links to the videos and photos would be sent to the studio, but we never received any photos, the video quality was terrible (I could have shot a better video on my cell phone), and only 2 of the 3 judges\' critiques worked. Still these things would not have been the end of the world. What made this competition so bad was the irresponsible and inconsistent scoring. According to their scoring information, the maximum technique score a routine can receive is a 35, however some of our routines received 37s and 38s, but were heavily marked down for things like costume or musicality. Some of our routines also received one award, but when we checked our scoresheets, they had received the wrong one. Finally, the judges only seemed concerned or impressed by tricks and flips, not artistry, creativity or emotion. They awarded their choreography award to a routine that did non stop tumbling passes and lifts throughout the entire \"dance.\" The plaques were cheap plastic, and one of our trophies completely fell apart the next day. Needless to say, we will not be returning to Elite Dance Cup.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Mar 21 2014

Will never attend again. Venue was horrible with very little space for dressing rooms. Had tents set up outside on a VERY chilly day! There was not enough seating for spectators. So very obviously favored one studio. This studio was from the town where the venue was. We found out that they had come in on Friday and practiced all their routines on the stage, which is against the rules that Elite Dance Cup states. This was brought to the comps attention but nothing was done. Also awarded the \"Dads Dance\" the highest overall award. The routine was totally inappropriate and so was the song. It was a slap in the face to the instructors and the students that had worked so hard for technique and routines and then dads get out there and shake their rear and win overall.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Nov 22 2013

This is another one to use for stage time and critiques....good comp

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Nov 15 2013

Small show, it seemed like they were struggling to keep it on the rails and going smooth, but all and all it turned out to be a good weekend.

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply

Sep 03 2013

This was a terrible experience, the critiques were about the color of lipstick or the hose color did not match the shoe etc. and to top it off they ran out of plaques, with the promise to send it.... yep never have gotten it and that was march Have called and emailed!

Venue : 0
Judging : 0
Staff : 0
Awards : 0
Communication : 0
Elite Dance Cup
Reply